oscar.jpg (1502 bytes)

Award Winning

Children's Literature


cup_thm.jpg (3691 bytes)

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children's book published the previous year.

scroll.jpg (2346 bytes)

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of
nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

buckbook.gif (10526 bytes)

The Buckeye Children's Book Award, established in 1981, is designed to encourage children to read literature critically, to promote teacher and librarian involvement in children's literature programs and to commend authors of such literature. Ohio children to both nominate and vote for their favorite books.
WB01511_.gif (114 bytes) Morley Library's Children's Page